WK 5- Artist Conversation- Andre Ritter

Artist: Andre Ritter
Exhibition: Fuse: Join to Form; Single Entity
Media: Metals, aluminum
Gallery:CSULB School of Art, Gatov Gallery West
Website: N/A
Instagram: N/A

Andre Ritter is a spring 2015 CSULB graduate with a BFC in Metals. Aside from creating, Andre is a father of two- an 8 year old and 10 year old. The exciting thing about Andre that he is inspired to keep art in our schools as many schools are removing art programs with increasing budget cuts. To make sure his kids have an education with art he devotes his own time to establish an art program at their school where artists come to the kids and show them their own artwork. Just like we do every Thursday! Between being a father, an artist, and directing an art program Andre’s hobbies include beach volleyball, comic books, and The Walking Dead (I’m sure he’s watching the newest episode tonight!)

Andre’s primary media consists of metals. However in his headdress the most attention grabbing media are the tall blue and green feathers. The base of the headdress is made up of aluminum metal pieces, but the use of metal does not take away from the Pacific Islander vibes. There are circular, rustic metal pieces that surround the base of the headdress that make the piece look like an authentic Polynesian artifact. The lamp was composed of aluminum, which one wouldn’t think of as authentic Polynesian materials, however the designs in architect and neutral tones give pacific island night vibes.

Andre’s art is Polynesian influenced. The headdress was influenced by more traditional pacific island culture- the side of the tropics most people don’t vacation to. The lamp shares a Polynesian architect style while giving off dim light; the purpose was to keep the piece authentic and soothing.

Coming from a Hawaiian background I enjoy seeing others captivate more than what they see on television. Andre’s industrial pieces remind me of being a kid when my family had all these scrap pieces of metal in the garage. My parents would let me glue them together and make metal animals. I personally related to Andre and his art, and I really admire him as a person hearing how he is rallying together artists to keep art an interest to children and a focus in our educational system. Andre is so deeply passionate about what he creates and speaks to it.

Author: huntermervosh

Est. 1993 I am a senior at CSU Long Beach wrapping up my final semester. A great amount of my time is dedicated to my career at Vans. I can genuinely say I love the company I work for and everything they represent. I'm a dog person. Cats are overrated, although I have three felines. My heart is taken by a little dachshund named Brawtney. I have two family dogs I also have a soft spot for- a German shepherd, Kekoa, and a beagle, Levi. I'm the type of person who will show up to a party and hang out with the host's dogs all night- and if anyone asks, "oh, that party was lit". I love the outdoors, and being indoors is a punishment, but adventures are no fun unless you have someone to share it with!.. So I value the people in my life greatly. I am a hula dancer of 17+years. I'm not that great in comparison to my beautiful hula sister who I share the stage with, but I love traveling and competing with them. Excited to soak up my last semester here at The Beach!

Leave a Reply

